View Clerisy Approval by State

Vernacular in the 21st Century Classroom

$40.00

Description

Clerisy Architect: Jaci Fong

Length of Workshop: 30 minutes

Danielson Framework: Domain 1 (Planning & Preparation), Domain 2 (Classroom Environment), Domain 3 ( Instruction), & Domain 4 (Professional Development)

Workshop Description:

Language transforms between generations. That is why it’s critical for Educators to assess the impact of their classroom language. Provide your teachers the opportunity to foster an inclusive learning environment through positive language choices with the help of our workshop—designed to guide Educators in the analysis and reflection on how their vernacular language during instruction affects student identity, mindset, and future planning. Participants will learn how common vernacular influences students, create a plan for data collection and develop new phrases to foster positive student identity.

Learning Objectives:

  • Teachers will be able to identify their own key phrases and common vernacular to analyze their impact on students.
  • Teachers will be able to learn new phrases or vocabulary designed for inclusivity and culture building.
  • Teachers will be reminded of 21st century standards and the impact of language on students’ future career choices.

Publications Highlighted:

Being Accepted, Not Just Tolerated, Is Good for Mental Health http://www.ascd.org/publications/educational-leadership/dec20/vol78/num04/Being-Accepted,-Not-Just-Tolerated,-Is-Good-for-Mental-Health.aspx; “From Rules That Expire to Language That Inspires” by Patrice Waller and Alison Marzocchi in Mathematics Teacher: Learning & Teaching PK-12, July 2020 (Vol. 113, #7, pp. 544-550; The Acronym and Beyond https://www.tolerance.org/magazine/publications/best-practices-for-serving-lgbtq-students/lgbtq-terms-definitions-the-acronym-and-beyond; “Thanks for Sharing”: What to Say When Students Are Wrong https://www.edutopia.org/discussion/thanks-sharing-what-say-when-students-are-wrong; The Right Way to Respond to a Student’s Wrong Answer https://resilienteducator.com/classroom-resources/right-way-respond-student-wrong-answer/; Five Ways to Better Prepare Students for Careers https://www.educationworld.com/a_curr/five-ways-to-better-prepare-students-for-careers.shtml ; National Estimate of LGBTQ Youth Seriously Considering Suicide https://www.thetrevorproject.org/wp-content/uploads/2019/06/Estimating-Number-of-LGBTQ-Youth-Who-Consider-Suicide-In-the-Past-Year-Final.pdf ; CDC – Adolescent Health            https://www.cdc.gov/nchs/fastats/adolescent-health.htm; Practical Guidance for Teachers: Supporting the Families of Gender Nonconforming Children https://www.naeyc.org/resources/pubs/yc/nov2019/supporting-families-gender-nonconforming-children; Gender Identity and Adjustment: Understanding the Impact of Individual and Normative Differences in Sex Typing https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2661758/ ; What High School Is Like for Transgender Students https://www.teenvogue.com/story/what-high-school-is-like-for-transgender-students; Ending stereotypes begins in the classroom https://www.iberdrola.com/social-commitment/gender-stereotypes-women; Bias Starts as Early as Preschool, but Can Be Unlearned https://www.edutopia.org/article/bias-starts-early-preschool-can-be-unlearned; Bias at the intersection of race and gender: Evidence from preschool‐aged children  https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/full/10.1111/desc.12788; Confessions of a Recovering Praise Manipulator http://www.ascd.org/publications/newsletters/education-update/jan19/vol61/num01/Confessions-of-a-Recovering-Praise-Manipulator.aspx